Charter Members

Ten years after the organization and incorporation of Kappa Alpha Psi (born Kappa Alpha Nu), the Baltimore (MD) Alumni Chapter was chartered on September 9th, 1921. It was the brainchild of George L. Newman, a Lincoln University (PA) Alumnus and an initiate of the Lincoln University Chapter, the Epsilon of Kappa Alpha Psi. Robert L. Jackson, M.D. (Kappa), pharmacists Newman and N. Monroe Scott (Xi) petitioned the Grand Chapter to organize and initiate new members.

They were joined by educators Deaver P. Young (Omicron), John H. Alston (Epsilon and Pi) and pharmacist J. H. Lassiter (Lambda). The other charter members were initiated in August 1921 in a fraternal hall in the 1200 block of Myrtle Avenue. They were pharmacist William S. Harris, banker John Johnson, Attorney Lewis S. Flagg, Jr. and John H. Tompkins, M.D. Thus, the Baltimore Alumni Chapter charter members are:

  • John H. Alston – Educator
  • Lewis S. Flagg, Jr. – Attorney
  • William S. Harris – Pharmacist
  • Robert L. Jackson – Physician
  • John Johnson – Banker
  • John H. Lassiter – Pharmacist
  • George L. Newman – Pharmacist
  • N. Monroe Scott – Pharmacist
  • John H. Tompkins – Physician
  • Deaver P. Young – Educator